Petrol ko Ha-ha-kaar

I can not avoid it. I can not have it any other way. I have no petrol in my bike – there is no option but get up early in the morning, I mean really early around 4 AM. Run and make it to the petrol station, hope that other people be sleeping (trick lagako!), and then park the motor bike on the queue.

#*#*#*#*

Unfortunately, this particular morning, others were smarter. Even though I dash quite early out from my house, when I eventually reach the petrol station (near Lagenkhel, Patan), there is already over 150 freaking motor bikes queued in front of me.

Satyanaash!

#*#*#*#*

I go prepared, wokay? Heroo bhayera, take out my mp3 player. Tyme pass.

#*#*#*#*

Petrol Shortage

Petrol Shortage

Petrol Shortage

7.00 AM and the line starts to slog forward. I push my bike a couple of meters every 3 or 4 minutes. Helpless me, helpless us. It is a long, very long line of hungry bikes, snaking back to over one kilometers. Poor ones on the back. It was as far and long as my eyes could trace until the line vanished on a turning. Bichara haru!!

#*#*#*#*

It’s almost 8.30. No breakfast. Very hungry now. A couple of burps – stomach fill with air. I guess. Very bad, mom says. No way can I leave my bike on the queue and go hunt for food. Who is going to push my bike in front for me?

#*#*#*#*

Petrol Shortage

Petrol Shortage

9.00 AM. Yes. I can see the pump now. Very happy.

Dai, how many liters they are giving?
Rs. 300 worth, bhai.
Damn dai, just Rs. 300 worth. All this for Rs. 300 worth of petrol. Hyaaa.. thukhaa…
Motorcycle agadi badhau, bhai.

#*#*#*#*

An entire morning, a waste and all I get is around 4.5 liters of petrol for my bike. Hopefully enough for two weeks, umm.. no perhaps.

#*#*#*#*

Petrol Shortage

Leave a Reply

